Homeless Coalition

The Fort Collins Homeless Coalition (FCHC) works with and for people who experience homelessness, to address the issues that arise from the experience of homelessness. We work to protect and advocate for dignity, rights, and choices for people experiencing homelessness. We create space for solutions and we effect change in our community. We fight the criminalization of poverty and homelessness. We commit our efforts toward goals affirmed and raised by people who are homeless. We strive to add our strengths together to create ways of living in which everyone has a place they can call home.


2Right to Rest Hearing Wednesday March 14th!!

CALL Representatives and ask them to VOTE YES!! 


HB 18-1067, The Colorado Right to Rest Act has been introduced and has been scheduled for its first hearing in House Local Government Committee on Wednesday March 14th at 1:30pm in room 271, on the Second floor of the State Capitol. We need you all to speak up!!

Colorado state legislators Salazar and Melton are sponsoring HB 18-1067 – The Colorado Right to Rest Act – for the fourth year. The Right to Rest Act is stronger, clearer, and more powerful! If HB 18-1067 passes this year – it will force the state of Colorado to abandon its practices of criminalizing homeless people for engaging in basic life-sustaining activities like sitting, lying, sleeping, resting and eating in public. The criminalization of rest must end if we are ever to turn the tide on our homelessness crisis.

You can read the full bill language here and you can read the main talkingpoints here


Follow these two easy steps.

1) Email and call the members of the Local Government Committeeand urge them to support HB 18-1067, the Colorado Right2Rest Act, and VOTE YES!

James Coleman james.coleman.house@state.co.us 303-866-2909 Democrat
Tony Exum tony.exum.house@state.co.us 303-866-3069 Democrat
Matt Gray matt@matthewgray.us 303-866-4667 Democrat
Larry Liston larry.liston.house@state.co.us 303-866-2937 Republican
Hugh McKean hugh.mckean.house@state.co.us 303-866-2947 Republican
Judy Reyher judy.reyher.house@state.co.us 303-866-2905 Republican
Kim Ransom kim.ransom.house@state.co.us 303-866-2933 Republican
Paul Rosenthal paulrosenthal5280@gmail.com 303-866-2910 Democrat
Jonathan Singer jonathan.singer.house@state.co.us 303-866-2780 Democrat
Dan Thurlow danthurlow55@gmail.com 303-866-3068 Republican
Donald Valdez donald.valdez.house@state.co.us 303-866-2916 Democrat

James Wilson representativewilson@gmail.com 303-866-2747 Republican

Sample Script:

My name is ________ and I am calling to urge you to vote YES on the Right To Rest Act. You will be hearing HB 18-1067Colorado Right To Rest Act in the Local Government Committee. This bill provides critical civil rights protections to ALL Coloradoans that every Coloradoan is able to meet the biological need of rest.

The practice of criminalizing poor and homeless people for engaging in basic life-sustaining activities like eating, sleeping, resting, and lying is unjust, cruel and entrenches people in homelessness. HB 18-1067 will enable homeless people to better access employment and apply for housing with time and energy that would otherwise be spent responding to police harassment, tickets, courts and jail time. This bill protects the health and safety of homeless people trying to survive without a home. Please vote YES on HB 18-1067: the Colorado Right To Rest Act!

2) SHOW UP at the hearing!!

Be part of the movement…BE THERE to continue the fight for our rights and survival.  To carpool from Fort Collins, meet at the Mennonite Church (Oak and Matthews) at 11am on Wednesday 3/14 or call 970.419.8944 for more information.